Fitness Certifications »
Continuing Education »
Professional Resources »
About ACE »
ACE Store »
Sales and Promotions »
ACE Partner Account »
Need Help? Call Us » (888) 825‑3636
Follow ACE on

Pre and Post Natal Exercise

pre-and-post-natal-exercise
0.4
Provider: ACE - American Council On Exercise Type: Self-Paced / Home Study Approved By: ACE 0.4 CECs , ACSM 4.0 CECs Included in Course:Book DVD Online Quiz $79.95 Add To Cart

Pre and Post Natal Exercise

0.4 Customer Reviews
  • 122 Reviews
  • Discover how the physiological changes associated with pregnancy may influence the design and effectiveness of exercise programming for this special population. Using Pre- and Post-Natal Fitness and ACE’s Guide to Pre-Natal Fitness, you’ll explore the benefits and risks of exercising during pregnancy as well as workout recommendations and the most popular exercise regimens.

     

    You will learn: 

    • To understand benefits and risks of exercise during pregnancy
    • To develop exercise programs based on specific needs of pre- and post-natal women
    • Fetal risks associated with pre-natal exercise
    • The role exercise plays in recovery from the birth process

     

    This course is included in our Therapeutic Exercise Specialty Certification.
    Learn more about how you can become a specialist. »

     

    Customer Reviews

    Natalya

    10/30/16 3:38 PM

    More current exercises and studies would be beneficial.

    Joris (ACE Certified Professional)

    9/15/16 12:40 PM

    Sorry, I'm disappointed: to my opinion it was very superficial, way too easy. Only the obvious is mentioned in the book... very very easy exam questions

    Maurika (ACE Certified Professional)

    4/14/16 7:13 AM

    Lots of great information. A nice read before and after pregnancy. More of a reality check as to what happens to a woman body before and after. Very informative course.

    Cheryl (ACE Certified Professional)

    12/13/15 8:52 AM

    Very thorough

    Raman Preet Kaur (ACE Certified Professional)

    11/14/15 6:06 PM

    This course was really helpful, Thanks

    Rebecca (ACE Certified Professional)

    11/12/15 8:47 PM

    Could use more in exercise design.

    Jessica (ACE Certified Professional)

    9/6/15 10:11 AM

    More up to date information would be nice, however, this may be the most up to date information available.

     

    ACE RESPONSE:  Thank you Jessica for feedback!  

    Carrie

    8/11/15 1:19 PM

    The material is comprehensive, but should be updated.

    Sarah (ACE Certified Professional)

    6/6/15 12:20 PM

    This book was written in early 2002. It is now 2015. How are we "continuing" our education reading material that is 13 years old?!? Very disappointing.

    desiree

    3/31/15 6:19 AM

    Easy read, very straight forward.

    Laura (ACE Certified Professional)

    2/21/15 2:52 PM

    The information could have been more in depth with more exercise programming suggestions. It was somewhat informative, but I do not feel it was worth what I paid.

    Molly

    2/15/15 7:45 PM

    Informative and factual, with basic modifications explained. This book is easy to understand for someone who is already and experienced personal trainer or instructor looking to expand client base. Unfortunately, as is the case with most computer-based exercise classes, quiz emphasis is always on numbers, with very few questions concerning "real-life" circumstances i/c/w programming.

    Karin

    11/5/14 6:55 PM

    This is a well structured specialty course.

     

    ACE RESPONSE: Thank you for the feedback!

    Jennifer (ACE Certified Professional)

    9/12/14 10:20 AM

    I thought it was a great course very informative. I notice others have suggested more exercises should have been included, but I don't think that is completely necessary. The book already outlines a number of stretches and basic exercises that are safe & effective for pregnant/postpartum women, in addition to listing out activities and weight-bearing exercises that are appropriate (though diagrams are not included). As a personal trainer you should be able to look these up, or refer to them in your materials - if you don't already know them. Great course, easy to understand, quick read.

     

    ACE RESPONSE: Thank you for the great feedback!

    Stephen

    6/14/14 2:06 PM

    Very helpful information

    Stefanie (ACE Certified Professional)

    6/7/14 7:41 PM

    The material was interesting and it was nice having a DVD to go along with the text book, however, they need more examples of exercises to do with clients.

    Kathleen

    5/20/14 9:01 AM

    This course has some good information in it for the trainer with limited background in pre and post-natal fitness. The book provides some exericse examples, but I was hoping for a few more examples (which I'm sure can be found online). Overall, it was a good course.

     

    ACE RESPONSE: Thank you for your helpful feedback!

    Jordan

    5/18/14 11:01 PM

    Was not aware this was included in the bundle.

     

    ACE RESPONSE: Here is a helpful link to all of the courses included in this bundle: http://www.acefitness.org/continuingeducation/course/4a5x732z/2-0-cecs-special-populations-post-rehab-fitness-course-bundle/ 

    You will also find all quiz components in your ACE account online under Online Courses.

    Please do not hesitate to contact our support team at 1-800-825-3636 ext 782 if you have any questions.

    Jonathan (ACE Certified Professional)

    5/11/14 10:05 AM

    I have many pregnant clients. Very helpful!

     

    ACE RESPONSE: Great! Enjoy implementing the information into your trainings!

    Nancy (ACE Certified Professional)

    5/5/14 10:49 AM

    Informational, to the point and focused on the key concepts.

    Alicia

    3/15/14 3:45 PM

    I received both the book and the DVD, however, I wouldn't recommend the DVD - it was helpful to see information (would be even better to be able to download the slides!). The book is the most important, I wish I had known that and saved the money.

    ACE RESPONSE: Thank you for the helpful feedback on the DVD and slides!

    Sheenia (ACE Certified Professional)

    12/30/13 2:10 PM

    There was good information in this module, however it lacked the tools for applying the information. Just as the ACE IFT model aimed to address confusion surrounding program design, I would have felt better about the information I learned if there was better information on how to apply it. Being pregnant myself, I still find that I am uncertain and wary of what I can or cannot do which may affect the baby. Greater focus on practical application would make this module much more valuable.

    ACE RESPONSE: Thank you for your helpful feedback. We will look into incorporating more practical components.

    V Anna (ACE Certified Professional)

    11/30/13 1:52 PM

    Excellent course.

    William

    11/6/13 6:44 AM

    Great course full of good information!!!

    Grace (ACE Certified Professional)

    11/1/13 10:00 AM

    Very nice introduction to training Pre and Post Natal clients. Good advice on hydration, nutrition, modifications and exercise suggestions.

     

    ACE RESPONSE: Thank so much for your feedback. Hope this will be useful to you and your clients.

     

    The American Council on Exercise reserves the right to discontinue the sale and/or support of any continuing education course at any time, in order to cancel, correct, or update content based on current industry standards, guidelines, and/or technological advances. Notification will be given 6 months prior to expiration to allow for course completion and no refund will be given for expiring courses.