Fitness Certifications »
Continuing Education »
Professional Resources »
About ACE »
ACE Store »
Sales and Promotions »
ACE Partner Account »
Need Help? Call Us » (888) 825‑3636
Follow ACE on

PilatesFit Homestudy Course

pilatesfit-homestudy-course
0.4
Provider: Yogafit Type: Self-Paced / Home Study Approved By: ACE 0.4 CECs Included in Course:Book DVD Online Quiz $79.95 Add To Cart

PilatesFit Homestudy Course

0.4 Customer Reviews
  • 43 Reviews
  • Provide a modern approach to the exercise program developed by Joseph Pilates for both new and experienced instructors. Get detailed instructions for more than 40 movements based on original Contrology exercises. You’ll also refresh your knowledge of anatomy, principles of alignment, class sequencing and methods of instruction to provide safe, effective and appropriate PilatesFit group exercises classes.

     

    You will learn:

    • Fundamental alignment and execution principles underlying PilatesFit exercises
    • Successful sequence of exercises and key dimensions of fitness (strength, endurance and flexibility) to incorporate in single sessions
    • “Transformational language” cuing style to help better demonstrate movements in class
    • Benefits of the PilatesFit exercise program, known as a more “user-friendly” system

     

    This course is included in our Mind Body Specialty Certification.
    Learn more about how you can become a specialist. »

     

    Customer Reviews

    Mare (ACE Certified Professional)

    2/22/17 4:52 PM

    I have been a fitness professional since ACE--and before that--IDEA's conception. I have been trained in various Pilates programs and took classical Pilates before it was a trend. Besides being a fitness professional since the 80s, I also have a Masters Degree in Education and felt the exam was poorly and confusingly constructed. Even though I scored 39/40, I felt the test was out of alignment with the previous model. My main issue with this course is that it is not congruent with the previous Pilates course in this mind-body module. Rose Zahnn is an ultimate professional; however, the program felt like a choreographed exercise class, which takes away from the mind-body aspect. It is taught in a way that seems more performed than instructed in the precise Pilates way in order to be effective. I paid to be educated but my standards/expertise exceeded this program.

    Sherry

    1/18/17 12:38 PM

    Overall good course. My only complaint was pages 43 and 44 of the workbook; apparently they are showing the standing hinge and the roll, but there were no labels (or directions) with the illustrations, so I had to guess which one was which.

    April (ACE Certified Professional)

    11/22/15 8:24 PM

    this course gave a good foundation, they only thing I would like is more training information on the DVD or one that is just for instructors.

    Lauren (ACE Certified Professional)

    7/17/15 3:33 PM

    There is good information in this course however, there are quite a few grammatical errors in the book.

    Yvonne (ACE Certified Professional)

    5/6/15 6:51 PM

    Poor instructions workbook

    Regina

    2/25/15 12:44 PM

    Basic intro to Pilates. Illustrations and descriptions are detailed enough but I could have googled that. The end of the manual is dedicated to "YogaFit" and their advertising...and outdated at that.

    Michael (ACE Certified Professional)

    8/10/14 10:03 AM

    Test Questions can sometimes NOT BE DIRECTLY tied to course material.

    Kelsie

    6/4/14 4:16 PM

    This is a very solid introduction to Pilates! Even after taking a Pilates workshop, I still learned a few new things. The quiz was to-the-point and all the questions were relevant to teaching a class, which is very important. I also love that the workbook includes exercises and pictures, which is a very helpful way to learn.

     

    ACE RESPONSE: Thank you for the great feedback!

    Gretchen (ACE Certified Professional)

    3/4/14 6:16 PM

    The Quiz and the Book/Video seem to differ. It is not the first time this has happened on an ACE quiz. Questions were asked that the material didn't cover. Questions were marked incorrect when it was a word for word out of the book question, which could not be incorrect.

     

    ACE RESPONSE: Thank you for this feedback. An ACE representative will be in contact with you soon via email to address your specific concerns.

    Bettina

    2/9/14 2:30 PM

    There are numerous mistakes in the book. The explanations for one exercise weren't there at all since another page had been printed twice.Also, there are inconsistencies in some of the exercise descriptions. I think that if you explain the breathing pattern in one exercise, it should be explained in all of them. It shouldn't be omitted in some, leaving you to guess or google.

     

    ACE RESPONSE: An ACE representative with be in contact with you shortly, via email, to address your concerns. Thank you for your feedback.

    Vicki (ACE Certified Professional)

    5/24/13 2:48 PM

    Some of the test questions were poorly worded and ambiguous.

    Tina (ACE Certified Professional)

    3/4/11 11:09 AM

    The written materials and the DVD were easy to follow and contained good information. Some of the pages in the book were out of order, but the content was otherwise well-written.

     

    The American Council on Exercise reserves the right to discontinue the sale and/or support of any continuing education course at any time, in order to cancel, correct, or update content based on current industry standards, guidelines, and/or technological advances. Notification will be given 6 months prior to expiration to allow for course completion and no refund will be given for expiring courses.