Fitness Certifications »
Continuing Education »
Professional Resources »
About ACE »
ACE Store »
Sales and Promotions »
ACE Partner Account »
Need Help? Call Us » (888) 825‑3636
Follow ACE on

In-Home Training for Seniors

in-home-training-for-seniors
0.2
Provider: ACE - American Council On Exercise Type: Self-Paced / Home Study Approved By: ACE 0.2 CECs , ACSM 2.0 CECs Included in Course:Online Content Online Quiz $49.99 Add To Cart

In-Home Training for Seniors

0.2 Customer Reviews
  • 32 Reviews
  • With more than 25 percent of Americans over the age of 65, learning to safely and effectively train senior adults could mean a tremendous business opportunity for you. Make training more accessible to older adults by learning how you can train them in their homes. Discover balance and movement challenges for the core, upper and lower body, and exercise modifications that take into account considerations applicable to senior clients. Includes a 20-question online quiz you can complete from your home or office.

    You will learn:

    • Role of exercise in restoring or maintaining functional independence in older adults
    • Program design and safety considerations for working with senior clients at home
    • Development of a home exercise program with progressions for core, balance, lower- and upper-body strength, integrated whole-body movements, and stretching for older adults

    Customer Reviews

    rebecca (ACE Certified Professional)

    9/5/16 10:15 AM

    Great video examples.

    Cynthia (ACE Certified Professional)

    6/23/16 7:42 PM

    Great review and well done!

    Kris (ACE Certified Professional)

    11/24/15 5:45 AM

    Excellent information for anyone working with active older adult clients.

     

    ACE RESPONSE:  Thank you Kris for your feedback.  We are glad you found the course useful and informative when working with older adult clients.   

    amy

    10/2/15 10:03 AM

    Lots of good information and detail about in-home training Some Quiz questions were a bit "picky" and addressed some very specific details. Overall a very good course.

     

    ACE RESPONSE:  Thank you Amy for your feedback!  We are glad you enjoyed the details of the course and we hope you find it useful when training clients.

    Eileen (ACE Certified Professional)

    8/30/15 3:42 PM

    One of the best, most comprehensive on-line courses I've taken. Great examples of exercises for older adults!

     

    ACE RESPONSE:  Thank you for your feedback Eileen!  We are happy you felt the course was thorough!

    Carly (ACE Certified Professional)

    7/28/15 1:16 PM

    Excellent summary and great way to relearn ACE basics

    Michele (ACE Certified Professional)

    7/23/15 2:24 PM

    I very much appreciated the valuable information and the facilitators and model in this series of videos. Very useful!

    Ruth Sahuc (ACE Certified Professional)

    7/12/15 11:37 AM

    Outstanding! Very easy to comprehend. Exam hit key points rather than trivia. Great course for anyone training older adults in-home or in a studio.

    Marcia (ACE Certified Professional)

    4/26/15 6:17 PM

    Great exercises and tips for training seniors.

    Adly Almanzo (ACE Certified Professional)

    2/17/15 9:16 AM

    Really enjoyed this. The videos were great and well-presented!

    Lauren

    11/15/14 6:37 AM

    Great course. Sue Grant is wonderful with seniors and senior exercise/balance training!!! and Mary really is a rock star! A couple of notes however: in the first few videos, especially the medication segment, the slides have so many words and go by so quickly that it is difficult to absorb the information. Also, in the Balance video, there are two segments where the video editing failed - so that she ended up repeating and even changing some of what she was instructing.

     

    ACE RESPONSE: Thank you for the helpful feedback.

    Dale

    6/1/14 4:19 PM

    The course material was great, however, I prefer reading the material versus the home workout/online video course material.

     

    ACE RESPONSE: Thanks Dale for the helpful feedback!

    Michele (ACE Certified Professional)

    4/3/14 4:40 PM

    I found the way each exercise was presented with progressions was very helpful. As someone with an interest in working with older adults and just starting out in the personal training field, it was also useful to see at what level the instructor recommended each exercise should be started.

    Richard (ACE Certified Professional)

    3/9/14 4:01 AM

    Good program with excellent ideas and exercises to progress seniors thorough safely yet effectively.

    Cynthia (ACE Certified Professional)

    2/16/14 11:54 AM

    Very well done! I'd like to purchase a DVD of the online content to review periodically. Is this possible?

     

    ACE RESPONSE: So glad you enjoyed this course. More information, including manual and DVD are a part of the Senior Fitness specialty certification. Look here for more information: http://www.acefitness.org/fitness-certifications/specialty-certifications/senior-fitness.aspx

    Gregory (ACE Certified Professional)

    2/5/14 6:51 PM

    taken good notes its all there

    Margaret

    1/9/14 10:16 AM

    Some very good information here, much of the information was very useful and will be integrated into practice and group classes. What I did not like 1. "flat back" often used instead of "neutral spine" 2. some poor cuing and not noticing poor positioning and lack of range of motion 3. there were plenty of progressions but few regressions--progressions are easy for most of us to come up with, regressions not so much...it takes a lot of creativity to do this without making the client think you are you are 'babying' them 4. the tone from the presenters (one in particular) was very condescending--almost as if talking to a child...I am 65 and many of my clients decades older but none of us will tolerate being spoken to in that fashion, being told we are doing great constantly is thoroughly annoying...'we' are just old/er not stupid.

     

    ACE RESPONSE: Thank you for this valuable feedback. We continue to strive to bring the best continuing education to our professionals and appreciate your comments. An ACE Representative will be in contact with you soon via email to discuss your specific concerns.

    Lynn (ACE Certified Professional)

    12/15/13 10:52 PM

    Very concise and efficient.

     

    The American Council on Exercise reserves the right to discontinue the sale and/or support of any continuing education course at any time, in order to cancel, correct, or update content based on current industry standards, guidelines, and/or technological advances. Notification will be given 6 months prior to expiration to allow for course completion and no refund will be given for expiring courses.