Fitness Certifications »
Continuing Education »
Professional Resources »
About ACE »
ACE Store »
Sales and Promotions »
ACE Partner Account »
Need Help? Call Us » (888) 825‑3636
Follow ACE on

Strength Programming for Older Adults

strength-programming-for-older-adults
0.2
Provider: ACE - American Council On Exercise Type: Self-Paced / Home Study Approved By: ACE 0.2 CECs , ACSM 2.0 CECs Included in Course:Online Content Online Quiz $44.97 Add To Cart

Strength Programming for Older Adults

0.2 Customer Reviews
  • 39 Reviews
  • Adults over 50 who lead sedentary lifestyles can lose up to a ¼ pound of muscle mass every year, making them more susceptible to chronic diseases such as osteoporosis. Learn to implement safe and effective programs for seniors trying to build muscle and increase strength. Explore training rationale, general principles and recommendations, and teaching guidelines to help men and women get stronger within 10 to 15 weeks of training.

     

    You will learn:

    • Three fitness-, health- and research-based benefits senior strength-training clients will experience within 10 to 15 weeks of training
    • Basic senior strength-training protocol regarding exercises, sets, repetitions, resistance, progression, range, speed and frequency
    • Instructional techniques proven to be successful for senior strength training
    • Key training modifications for seniors with common medical conditions

    Customer Reviews

    Daniel (ACE Certified Professional)

    7/2/14 1:56 PM

    Not a bad course. Much more basic than I was hoping for.

     

    ACE RESPONSE: Thank you Daniel for your feedback. We will look into ways to improve this course.

    Penny (ACE Certified Professional)

    5/10/14 5:37 PM

    This course was terrible - was unable to move through the program & all the he did was read - even repeated the age group levels. Aweful

    ACE RESPONSE: An ACE representative will be in contact with your shortly to discuss your specific concerns. Thank you for your feedback.

    Jagat (ACE Certified Professional)

    2/2/14 10:07 PM

    i loved it so much and its really helpfull to me

    Leo (ACE Certified Professional)

    11/26/13 12:54 PM

    great learning tool for seniors

    Cheryl (ACE Certified Professional)

    8/22/13 10:27 AM

    Good, basic overview for the kinds of issues you would encounter in working with this population. Also includes good "talking points" for how to encourage a beginning exerciser in this group to start training and keep with it.

    ACE Response: Thank you for your feedback!

    Andrea (ACE Certified Professional)

    4/7/13 9:13 AM

    It is a good course if your just starting out in working with seniors. If you have experience working with seniors you might not get as much out of this course as you would like. I would definitely recommend for beginners in working with seniors. Though is a good refresher course if you have experience working with seniors.

    Catherine (ACE Certified Professional)

    2/28/13 1:08 PM

    Great course. Lots of relative information that can be used in everyday training with the older adult.

    Elisa

    2/20/13 1:08 PM

    Linda (ACE Certified Professional)

    1/26/13 5:56 PM

    Pretty good course. I would like to see more training for people in the 85 - 100 age range. I work with many clients in nursing homes or in-home care where strength training is definitely beneficial.

    Dustin (ACE Certified Professional)

    11/9/12 9:48 AM

    Good for a trainer with less working experience (or someone that hasn't trained senior adults). Otherwise, the course is a nice review.

    Katherine

    7/22/12 6:18 AM

    Good solid introduction. Small point, on the YMCA leg test used in the course the calculations forget to mention you need to times the number by 100 to get a percentage that can be compared to the table of results provided. Might confuse someone if maths was not a strong point.

    Brent (ACE Certified Professional)

    6/19/12 11:00 AM

    The information included in this presentation will be very beneficial to anyone who trains older adults. I gave this course an average rating because the instructional photos in the "Recommended Exercises for Seniors" were poorly taken. The exercise descriptions reference "start position" while the pictures are taken from angles which provide no frame of reference. For example, the Chest Press section recommends placing feet on the floor - meanwhile the woman photographed has her feet on the bench. I feel more confident working with my senior clients, because of this course. So I would recommend it. However, with a population in which proper form is so fundamental to success, the poor use of photography and lack of "start position" descriptions are disappointing.

    Carly (ACE Certified Professional)

    2/26/12 6:58 PM

    Ok, first off, the quiz froze and I was not able to answer a question. Thank goodness I knew the rest of the answers or else that could of been bad. The class was very simple which I liked and great for beginners working with older adults. It reminded me of college lecture notes which again, I prefer as oppose to research study papers. Good & easy course.

    Karen (ACE Certified Professional)

    12/23/11 11:03 PM

    Clear, easy to follow guidelines and complete handouts of the material. Very useful information.

    Carol (ACE Certified Professional)

    4/13/11 2:23 PM

    It was okay but not as in-depth as I expected

    Amy

    2/28/11 8:11 AM

    Some of the content seemed very basic & the audio delivery was very slow. I would have preferred more specifics on working with seniors and why instructors should instruct in certain ways; ie, what aspects of aging require instructors to teach in a certain way. More options for strength would be nice as well, maybe resistance bands, and more specific choices for programming.

    Howard (ACE Certified Professional)

    1/15/11 3:30 PM

    Excellent course.

    Michael (ACE Certified Professional)

    11/28/10 1:28 PM

    The only issue was with navigation. Sometimes the audio played, but a lot of times, I had to select play on it...great information though.

    John

    8/16/09 5:56 PM

    Would recommend to others. Very informative.

     

    The American Council on Exercise reserves the right to discontinue the sale and/or support of any continuing education course at any time, in order to cancel, correct, or update content based on current industry standards, guidelines, and/or technological advances. Notification will be given 6 months prior to expiration to allow for course completion and no refund will be given for expiring courses.