Fitness Certifications »
Continuing Education »
Professional Resources »
About ACE »
ACE Store »
Sales and Promotions »
ACE Partner Account »
Need Help? Call Us » (888) 825‑3636
Follow ACE on

Nondiet Weight Management Course

nondiet-weight-management-course
0.7
Provider: OnCourse Learning Type: Self-Paced / Home Study Approved By: ACE 0.7 CECs Included in Course:Book Online Quiz $109 Add To Cart

Nondiet Weight Management Course

0.7 Customer Reviews
  • 73 Reviews
  • Work with chronic dieters more effectively by providing practical strategies and techniques for breaking the diet failure cycle and achieving lasting fitness and health. Discover the Health At Every Size (HAES) philosophy and how to offer new strategies for building momentum and support for a non-diet approach to food, exercise, self-image and lifestyle.

     

    This course is included in our Weight Management Specialty Certification.
    Learn more about how you can become a specialist. »

     

    Customer Reviews

    Teresa

    1/28/16 6:59 AM

    Excellent, a lot of information, sometimes finding the answers was not clear as the question could lead to possibly more than one answer. The test choices in the book does not match the test options on line on all questions.

    Regina (ACE Certified Professional)

    11/28/15 6:45 PM

    Very out-dated and contradictory statements within the course. Very disappointed.

    Jessica (ACE Certified Professional)

    11/3/15 5:46 PM

    Seems out of date.

    Chrystal (ACE Certified Professional)

    9/28/15 9:58 AM

    I felt that this material and its research was outdated with most references being sited from the late 80's and early 90's. While some of it seemed accurate, much of the information almost seemed to contradict what is learned in the ACE personal training course. The protein/carbohydrate balance discussion makes sense but does not follow the USDA dietary guidelines. The information also says not to weigh using the scales and not to keep track of what is eaten. This too contradicts what was learned in the ACE personal training course. With these types of contradictions it makes these courses seem less reliable and leaves me questioning the best way to reach out to clients!

    Elizabeth (ACE Certified Professional)

    8/30/15 7:36 AM

    Not a great resource. All the cited sources from this course are from 1994 and below. The information is inaccurate.

    Annie

    7/31/15 4:01 PM

    The content does not support name of course. Seems course was written just to support HAES, very misleading and contradictory. Not what I expected according to other material offered by ACE on Lifestyle and weight management. I was very disappointed with this material.

    Michele (ACE Certified Professional)

    7/4/15 12:40 PM

    I don't agree with a lot of the theories in the book.

    Anna (ACE Certified Professional)

    6/7/15 8:02 AM

    New to me, this approach is mind-opening and I think should be taught everywhere. So many trainers still focus on calories in and calories out and we forget that long-term weight maintenance is about lifestyle. The non-diet approach really makes sense and I think the course lays it out in easy to understand format with a lot of great examples and suggested reading.

     

    ACE RESPONSE:  Thanks Anna for your feedback!  We are happy to hear you found some additional insight into this topic and will be able to utilize it with your clients.

    Camille (ACE Certified Professional)

    5/12/15 6:20 PM

    This course provides a good insight of the "non-diet" approach to weight management. As someone who has difficulty sticking to strict, regimented plans, it provided useful background on what to focus on if not meal planning and counting calories or other metrics.

    Lauren (ACE Certified Professional)

    1/29/15 3:39 PM

    The book had a lot of errors in it - print-wise. Someone should have proofread it before they sent it to print. Other than that, it had great material. Enjoyed reading and learning the information.

    Nicola (ACE Certified Professional)

    11/30/14 2:21 PM

    Do not waste your money. Outdated information on everything. Very disappointed

    Andrea (ACE Certified Professional)

    11/4/14 9:50 PM

    A lot of outdated info.

     

    ACE RESPONSE: Thank you for the feedback on this course.

    Bridget (ACE Certified Professional)

    9/18/14 5:20 PM

    I felt this course was very outdated. Much of the information is wrong based on more current research. While there are some good aspects of a non- diet approach, I don't think this course was very relevant or useful.

     

    ACE RESPONSE: Thank you for the feedback on this course.

    Kelly (ACE Certified Professional)

    8/29/14 10:57 AM

    I enjoyed this course and kno that I will use the book's handouts with my clients.

    David

    6/13/14 12:19 PM

    Good advice and a great new perspective on how to transition certain clientele to healthy life style instead of strict dieting.

    Cari

    6/9/14 5:45 PM

    Loved this course! Very important to get this message out to everyone in the fitness industry. Would like to see another course specifically targeted to conscious eating. It would be excellent to have more information and tools to be able to help my clients develop this skill.

    Tanya

    5/30/14 1:32 PM

    Great information on a new innovative approach to weight management.

    Chris (ACE Certified Professional)

    2/16/14 2:11 PM

    In our dieting obsessed culture I believe we need more courses like this available to help educate us as trainers. Likewise, we need to be able to steer our clients toward a more realistic and accepting approach as non-diet weight management.

    Jamal (ACE Certified Professional)

    6/17/13 2:22 PM

    This was a fantastic course because it offered a perspective that isn't commonly known right now. Knowing multiple perspectives gives a weight management specialist more tools to help a client!

    Juleen (ACE Certified Professional)

    12/17/09 2:48 PM

    I LOVED THIS COURSE! One of my TOP 5 FAVORITES. Finally a course that has fresh and new ideas that gets off the cliche ways of the fitness industry. If you will be working with obese or clients who will never diet again then defiantly get this course. If you are deciding between this one and Intuitive Eating pick this one, it is more practical and has a lot more info. Or do the Intuitive Eating and then this one for more knowledge. I ordered the soft book verses the online edition it's esier on the eyes and you will want to mark up the book.

     

    The American Council on Exercise reserves the right to discontinue the sale and/or support of any continuing education course at any time, in order to cancel, correct, or update content based on current industry standards, guidelines, and/or technological advances. Notification will be given 6 months prior to expiration to allow for course completion and no refund will be given for expiring courses.