Fitness Certifications »
Continuing Education »
Professional Resources »
About ACE »
ACE Store »
Sales and Promotions »
ACE Partner Account »
Need Help? Call Us » (888) 825‑3636
Follow ACE on

FrameWork for the Shoulder: A 6-Step Plan for Preventing Injury and Ending Pain

framework-for-the-shoulder-a-6-step-plan-for-preventing-injury-and-ending-pain
0.4
Provider: ACE - American Council On Exercise Type: Self-Paced / Home Study Approved By: ACE 0.4 CECs , ACSM 4.0 CECs Included in Course:Book Online Quiz $79.95 Add To Cart

FrameWork for the Shoulder: A 6-Step Plan for Preventing Injury and Ending Pain

0.4 Customer Reviews
  • 44 Reviews
  • Recently, advances in medicine and technology have given doctors a more insightful understanding of the biomechanics and functional anatomy of the shoulder. In his book, FrameWork for the Shoulder, Dr. Nicholas DiNubile reveals how the shoulder can become imbalanced and damaged. He then goes on to outline an effective systematic plan for a healing and lifestyle program. This course covers everything from pre-exercise screening and individualized exercise advice to nutritional strategies for reducing pain, and fortifying the soft-tissue structures and bones of the shoulder.

    You will learn:

    • List the major components of the shoulder and how they work to contribute to motion, function and performance
    • Distinguish between different types of shoulder injuries
    • Discuss factors that contribute to shoulder pain and dysfunction
    • Explain the importance of exercise and physical activity in functional and pain-reduction programs for the shoulder
    • Perform a self-check test that identifies weak links in the chain of wellness
    • Discuss common approaches and procedures used to treat individuals with diseases, injuries, and conditions of the shoulder
    • Explain three levels of progressive exercise specific to improving shoulder function and health

     

    This course is included in our Orthopedic Exercise Specialty Certification.
    Learn more about how you can become a specialist. »

     

    Customer Reviews

    Desiree (ACE Certified Professional)

    8/23/16 6:22 PM

    Too wordy.

    Don

    7/24/16 4:54 PM

    Not enough information in this course. I could have accessed more through WebMD

    Sonia

    4/5/16 7:21 PM

    Very well explained. Great reference for tx of or shoulder impairments

    Casey (ACE Certified Professional)

    3/29/16 9:05 PM

    This book isn't written for trainers, it's written for the layperson looking to increase their shoulder health. I was expecting this course to go a lot more in depth, and it was honestly disapointing. It didn't teach me anything that I didn't know already from oustide research, and the reason why I chose this course was because I was hoping to learn something new. The framework books all contain the same filler content about diet and whatnot, and could definitely be edited into one book. I also don't agree with the nutritional information the authors present, advocating for 55% carbs and only 10% protein. Especially when theyre recommending that the majority of carbs come from pasta and grains; this is clearly outdated information based on the old food pyramid thats no longer in use... In all, its a good book for a middle aged person new to exercising to pick up. As for a course for an ACE certification? It is subpar and definitely not what I was expecting. At least I got my CE's done!

    Debra (ACE Certified Professional)

    9/26/15 10:10 AM

    Great information!

    KATHERINE (ACE Certified Professional)

    9/3/15 4:12 PM

    Maybe my expectations were off but having said that I was expecting more advanced knowledge. The course was very vague and offered nothing I already didn't know. I was looking for more detail, such as how does a subscapularis injury differ from an infraspinitis, how does it present itself, etc. This is not in depth and "Shoulders for Idiots" if there is such a book would probably offer more detail. A complete waste of my time and money.

    Connie (ACE Certified Professional)

    8/22/15 2:49 PM

    Very good, useful and scientific study of the shoulder. I would recommend this to any trainer.

     

    ACE RESPONSE:  Thank you Connie for your feedback!  We are happy you found this course to be a great resource for fitness professionals.

    carolyn

    8/8/15 12:18 PM

    Excellent!

    Karen (ACE Certified Professional)

    4/5/14 4:18 PM

    Good, but I thought it could have perhaps covered more injuries rather than repeat some nutritional information that was in the other book. However, still an excellent course have already applied what I've learned to my clients! Very pleased.

     

    ACE RESPONSE: Thank you for the great feedback Karen!

    Susan (ACE Certified Professional)

    11/9/13 9:55 AM

    Very informative and descriptive...another CEC that I'm excited about implementing with my clients!

    Joseph (ACE Certified Professional)

    7/26/13 12:42 PM

    Very informative and practical.

    Tatyana (ACE Certified Professional)

    7/12/13 2:31 PM

    very clearly written, easy to understand. Great author!

    Constance (ACE Certified Professional)

    4/21/13 2:11 PM

    Excellent presentation. I have a much more detailed understanding of shoulder mechanics, degeneration as well as practical knowledge to used toward problem improvement and prevention!

    Alan

    2/28/13 5:43 PM

    Great book. This author knows what he's talking about and presents the material in a very easy to understand way.

     

    The American Council on Exercise reserves the right to discontinue the sale and/or support of any continuing education course at any time, in order to cancel, correct, or update content based on current industry standards, guidelines, and/or technological advances. Notification will be given 6 months prior to expiration to allow for course completion and no refund will be given for expiring courses.